2020 Rural Staff

updated ~03/17/2020~


Jonathan YangJonathan

Hello my name is Jonathan Yang. My name is deceiving I am not Asian. My husband is Chinese. We go back to China about every year. Sadly I do not speak Chinese very well but I’m on my way to fluency. I’ve worked with Camp Fire for many years now in Alaska and in Oklahoma. I work in the public school system as a teachers assistant in a special education classroom. I am also slowly working towards my bachelors in art education while my husband was finishing his doctorate. Now that he’s done it’s my turn to go back to school full-time starting in the school year 2020. I love to crochet and watch murder she wrote as well as multiple anime. I went to college for music specifically vocal performance for two years but dropped out because they asked too much of you and don’t give you enough in return. So now I’m going to school for my other life as I said previously Art. specifically 2-D art which is drawing and painting.


Lewis MartinLewis

Hello Everyone! My name is Lewis Martin, I am from the village of Kwigillingok Alaska. I am currently attending the University of Alaska Fairbanks. I am majoring in Elementary Education. This is my third straight summer working with the Rural Program and I really enjoy my time working with the kids in the rural communities. In my spare time, I love to play basketball, I love to sing and I love to go out in nature with my family to go pick some berries and just be out and about. I am looking forward to working with all the staff and the rural communities.

 

 


Faren Myre1Faren

Hello Everyone, My name is Faren. I’ve worked with Camp Fire last year and had a great time. I am originally from Mountain Village, Alaska. I am currently a V.P.O (village police officer) in Mountain Village. I am on a break from college this semester but will return in the fall, my major is Nursing. Fun fact: Rayanne is my cousin!!

 

 

 


Anthony ContyAnthony

Hello, my name is Anthony Conty. I am from Orlando, FL. My interests are in physical fitness and teaching kids the importance of physical and mental health at an early age. My experience working with kids comes from my martial arts background where I ran both a Martial Arts Summer Camp and after school program. In my spare time I love kayaking, hiking, and just being outdoors in nature with my family. 2 fun facts about myself are not only am I an Army Veteran but my birthday is Veterans Day. The reason I’m looking forward to the Camp Fire program is to experience Alaska by meeting and working with the people in the rural communities.

 

 

 

 

 


Ashley BukowskiAshley

Hi!  My name is Ashley.  I have been living in Anchorage for the past four years, but I am originally from Orlando, Florida.  I am a high school teacher, going on eight years.  I love to travel, I have backpacked over 35 countries.  A fun fact about myself is that I have a personal goal to run a half marathon in all 50 states, I have currently completed 14!  I have participated in exchange trips to rural Alaska and am really excited to spend the summer seeing new parts of Alaska, putting on some fun events and meeting you all!  A second fun fact is that I have hiked the Camino de Santiago three times.  This is a hike that consist of 500 miles over 33 days!

 

 

 

 


Erin TilleryErin

Hey everyone! My name is Erin. For the last 3 years I have lived in Murray, Kentucky. I am studying Nonprofit Leadership and Management at Murray State University. I specifically love working with youth development programs and older adults. Growing up, I had the opportunity to live in 8 different states because my parents moved around when I was a kid. Now I love to travel and meet new people. When I am not at the library studying or working, I enjoy spending time with my family and friends, hiking at Land Between the Lakes, reading, and practicing yoga. A fun fact about me is my family moved to Juneau, Alaska when I was in first grade. It was an unforgettable experience and I am excited to return this summer! I look forward to meet everyone on our team and facilitate programs within the communities we serve in!

 

 

 


Rayanne AlickRayanne

My name is Rayanne, I was born and raised in Alaska and spent the majority of my life in rural communities. My dad is from Marshall, Ak and my mom is from Pilot Station so we moved back and forth between the two my whole life. This upcoming season with campfire I’m looking forward to helping out the communities I travel to and holding fun activities for everyone to enjoy.

 

 


Kendall OgleKendall

Hi everybody! My name is Kendall, and as I type this I am sitting in my home in Ibarra, Ecuador where I have been living for almost two years now as a Peace Corps Volunteer. Ibarra is a gorgeous small city surrounded by green mountains, and I am very lucky to have had the opportunity to live here. I have been working as an English teacher collaborating with public school teachers and community members, and I have really loved working with students and youth in my city. I am looking forward to using some of the same skills and activities in the work we will be doing together in rural Alaska this summer! I speak Spanish well and French badly, and some things I like to do in my free time are hike, swim, run, read, and play card games with my friends. I am so looking forward to exploring Alaska for the first time and to living, working, and playing with all of you this summer!


Alex OgleAlex

Hi all! My name is Alex. I’m originally from Texas, but I’ve been hopping around different places for a number of years now. Most recently, I’ve been living and working as a Peace Corps volunteer in Ecuador for the past two years with my partner Kendall (the lovely red head pictured above!). Here in Ecuador I’ve been doing different projects with youth related to cultural exchange and English learning. I’m a language fiend, and am always learning a new one, right now it”s French and Irish. Some things that make me indescribably happy include beautiful art, the sound of the ocean, Alfred Hitchcock movies, Russian folk songs, dancing with abandon to EDM, a good ghost story, Mexican food, and, of course, Harry Potter. I’m very excited to experience Alaska’s beauty, culture, and communities with you all this summer!


Daniel AntonsonDaniel

Hello everybody! My name is Daniel and I am incredibly excited to be part of the Rural Program team. I was born near Uppsala, Sweden but moved away when I was very young. Since then, I have lived in 6 different states. I am currently working as a medical assistant at Brown University in Providence, RI but I will have my summer free to be a part of this adventure. I am passionate about medicine and I have experience working as an EMT and volunteer crisis counselor. Additionally, I love to surf, hike, and camp. Some of the things that excite me the most about this program is the opportunity to learn about life in rural Alaska and build relationships with the individuals there. I can’t wait to meet you all soon!

 

 

 


More Fabulous Team Member Bios to come!!!


 

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close